News

Summer 2014 Student Opportunities

Tuesday, January 7, 2014

Mountain Lake Biological Station (University of Virginia) is pleased to announce its summer program of field-based undergraduate and graduate-level credit courses... more

Thursday, December 19, 2013

MLBS offers three ways to support our mission and important efforts at the Station.

Discover The Power of Place... more

Early-Career Fellowships 2014

Friday, December 13, 2013

The University of Virginia’s Mountain Lake Biological Station (MLBS) is excited to offer a limited number of fellowships to cover residency and station use costs for researchers exploring new... more

Monday, October 21, 2013

Please join other Mountain Lakers in supporting the exciting Notes from Nature effort to get invaluable scientific museum collections, including the MLBS herbarium, on line.  UVA... more

Thursday, September 26, 2013

In this issue:                                                        
*Our first Artist Colony

*From the... more

Thursday, September 26, 2013

In this issue; Fall 2013, vol. 9

*Our first Artist Colony

*From the Director

*Student Spotlight: Katie O’Donnell, Wildlife Disease Ecology

*REU profiles

*A visit... more

Thursday, September 26, 2013

A Loss for Biology: Ruth Patrick, 105, a Pioneer in Science and Pollution Control Efforts, Is Dead. 
http://nyti.ms/... more

Wednesday, September 25, 2013
Thursday, September 12, 2013

Mice in the wild have no problem dining where someone else has pooped. Animals with higher standards of hygiene, reported in earlier studies, may not face the same dangers as small, hungry... more

Thursday, September 12, 2013

Project baseline will be starting work at MLBS in 2014:  Project Baseline is a multi-university collaboration that aims to create a unique seed bank used to study plant evolution in response to... more

Pages

Organism of the Day

Sunday, June 14, 2015
Sunday, June 7, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Tuesday, July 29, 2014
Tuesday, July 22, 2014